Less than 24 hours after May the 4th Be With You, Disney officially announced Star Wars as their next installment of the 'Disney Infinity' video game franchise.

Set to be released in the Fall on all current video game consoles as well as PC, Android, and IOS, the new Disney Infinity will focus primarily on Star Wars, with three expected playsets,

  1. 'Twilight of the Republic' will take place during the prequel trilogy and feature characters like Anakin Skywalker, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Yoda, Darth Maul, and Ashoka Tano.
  2. 'Rise Against the Empire' will be set during the original trilogy and feature Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, Princess Leia, Chewbacca, and Darth Vader, as well as allow players to pilot an X-Wing and the Millennium Falcon.
  3. A currently unnamed 'The Force Awakens' playset will be released with figures close to the film's release.

Disney has also announced a first in the series for the Star Wars playsets, with the figures not being playset exclusive.  In past Infinity games, playsets could only be played with figures specific to that set (such as Spider-Man cannot be used in the Avengers' playset), but now any Star Wars character can be used in-game on any Star Wars themed playset.  All 3.0 characters, including all characters from the original Disney Infinity and Disney Infinity 2.0 can be used in the 3.0 Toy Box open-world function.  Apart from Star Wars, Infinity 3.0 will see the inclusion of other Disney-related figures into the Toy Box line, including,

  • Mickey Mouse
  • Minnie Mouse
  • Mulan from 'Mulan'
  • Olaf from 'Frozen'
  • Sam Flynn from 'Tron: Legacy'
  • Quorra from 'Tron: Legacy'
  • Iron-Man Hulkbuster Suit from 'The Avengers: Age of Ultron'
  • And more 'Age of Ultron' figures as well as figures from the upcoming film 'Inside Out'.

Disney, saying they have listened to their fans, will also be releasing Infinity 3.0 at a lower price, around $65 for a starter pack.  The inclusion of the Star Wars line has been an obvious addition since Disney acquired the rights from George Lucas, with lightsabers being unlockable weapons in the previous installments by purchasing all available figures for that edition.

via Disney