Turnout for today's primary election was low by any standard.  As expected, President Barack Obama won the Democratic Presidential Primary.  As of 8 pm, with all precincts reporting, Obama had received a total of 991 votes in Wichita County, including 432 early votes cast, about 85% of the Democratic votes.

In the Republican race for U.S. Senate, Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst is currently leading with 304, 770 votes.  Ted Cruz follows with 192, 286 votes.  Former Dallas mayor Tom Leppert is in third place with just over 88,000 votes.  So far, about 35 percent of precincts are reporting state wide.  In Wichita County, Dewhurst leads Cruz 1448 to 937 votes.  Less than 10 percent of the 72,402 registered voters in Wichita County voted in the high profile Senate race.  As many had predicted, Dewhurst and Cruz will go head-to-head in a run-off election in July.

See complete results for both primaries for Archer, Clay and Wichita as well as the state wide races by following the links below


Barack Obama - IncumbentDEM36784.95%84485.16%

More From Newstalk 1290